#WeekendActivities

Last weekend I took a trip with the kids to Walla Walla while Kevin stayed behind and worked on our dumb kitchen venting – one of those, “small job turned big job” type of situation.  We all had a blast, and were sorry to leave.  We had a lot of weekend activities to do all together, and then when we were lounging at the house, the kids were outside riding bikes all weekend.  Talk about awesome.  I’m glad Rylan has finally decided to get back on his bike after his major face-landing earlier this summer, otherwise he never would have been able to keep up with the cousins on the street and at the dirt bike park!  So awesome.

Our road trip up there, 4 hours, was pretty uneventful, but I had two good road tripping buddies.

We listened to good ol’ Hank the Cowdog audio book and sang and danced to their favorite “rocker”, Bon Jovi.  And by that I mean, we listened through the whole album about 5 times.  They still aren’t tired of it, but somebody else sure is!  How many times can you live on a prayer anyway?

Anyway, we got into town around dinner time and had dinner and celebrated my favorite THREE  year old’s birthday (belated)!  I think this was the night we popped homegrown popcorn.  I can’t imagine the work it took to grow this corn, but I sure do know the work it took to pick the thousands of corn kernels up off the floor.  Three times.  First, the ziplock bag holding the said kernels exploded from the bottom because Henry was squeezing the bag.  We picked them up.  Then I poured the collected kernels back into the bag with no bottom…we picked them up again, with much angst.  Then Simeon took the bowl of saved kernels off the counter and…well, needless to say, we picked them up again.  I am not mentioning all the cries of distress (except for now, of course) during this stressful time!  As we picked them up the third time I said, “someday, we may laugh about this.”  I know I have already laughed twice about it in past few days while retelling the story.  How about you guys?

Sunday was extra special because Jake had made spiced wine in the crockpot that morning, which was all ready for us and smelling delicious when we got home from church!  Pair that with cranberry goat cheese, salami, and crackers/baguette, and some kids outside bike riding, we had ourselves a pretty nice afternoon!

We also went to the pumpkin patch, which led to some fun down the big slide down the haystack, and pumpkin carving later!

On Sunday evening, I drove up to the Tri-Cities to visit one of my best friends, and Rylan fell asleep on the way back.  (It was pretty late).  Good thing we had Uncle Jake there to help tuck him into bed!

1052

Our last day took a turn for the worst when poor Hannah managed to get stuck by wasps about five or six times!  Talk about bad!  Fortunately, she was okay, but that is enough to traumatize a person, that’s for sure.  After lunch on Monday we packed up and headed home.  Nobody wanted to leave, so we loitered around for a while, meaning we also got home later.  But that’s okay, since Kevin was waiting for us with dinner all made!  What a guy.  I guess it’s nice to be home too.

 

 

 

Leave a comment