Boy Birthdays

June brings the celebration of Kevin and Rylan’s joint birthday, which is always a fun time!  Somehow the fact that they share a birthday makes the day doubly awesome.

As usual, Kevin and I surrounded Rylan’s bed with balloons in the middle of the night, so he would wake up starting his birthday in a celebratory mood!  Unfortunately, since he and Quinn share a bedroom, she woke up at about 2:00 am and was very excited about it as well…aka, LOUD.  She walked into the dark hallway announcing, “Mom!  Dad!  There’s balloons in my room!  Balloons!!!”

Kevin took off work that morning for us to all go to Cracker Barrel for breakfast.  We’ve tried out most of the best breakfast places in town, and this was Rylan’s choice for the day.  I’m just glad he didn’t pick IHOP, he always loves that place because they make “funny face pancakes”, which is always a hit with the kids.  Thankfully, the Cracker Barrel waitress obliged his wishes:

20180612_085334

After breakfast, Kevin left for work and we proceeded to the next event of the day, going to Planet Kid with Kyndra.  It’s basically a huge indoor playground, and one of the kid’s favorite places to go…ever.  They all had a fun time and we ended it with getting some lunch at the park.

Around Quinny’s nap time, we went home and I made him a chocolate chip bundt cake (delish!), and wrapped some presents.  That night we headed over to the Kingsbury’s and had a great celebration.  Rylan loved all his gifts, and has spent all week rotating through them.

Don’t think I forgot about Kevin!  But, kind of I did.  Honestly he takes a minor backseat roll to our new 6 year old, but he’s very generous about the whole birthday sharing ordeal.  He got some good gifts as well, but none of them involved sports, books, or dinosaur stuff!

We waited until Friday to celebrate the boys with my side of the family, and it went equally well.  This time I surprised Kevin with a cake more up his alley, a Cannoli Cake (he loves cannoli’s from another one of our favorite breakfast places)!  I was highly skeptical it would be good, but, would you believe, it was great!  Might have to do it again next year!

20180612_212752

So there they are, 6 and 32 years old.

In general, I think Kevin and I are just now coming into what we really want in our lives and how we are hoping to pursue those goals.  I am excited to march forward with Kevin, both in our 3rd decade!

Concerning Rylan, I am glad he is six now.  I feel like a new age signifies the turning of a new page.  His 5th year was a challenging one from my perspective, and I hope for better things in this next one.  I am really enjoying having older kids, so I assume that enjoyment will just increase more and more!

So there it is.  The two boys I love most in the world are one year older!  Happy Birthday!

Leave a comment